Monetary Policy Committee

  • It is constituted by the Central Government under Section 45ZB of the RBI Act, 1934 (as amended in 2016).
  • Its objective is to determine the policy rate necessary to achieve the inflation target.
  • This committee consists of 6 members-
    • Governor (ex-officio Chairman) of RBI
    • Deputy Governor (in charge of monetary policy, ex officio member)
    •  An officer nominated by the Central Board of RBI (ex-officio member)
    • 3 members appointed by the Central Government (Tenure for a period of 4 years or until further orders, whichever is earlier)
  • Its meetings are held at least 4 times a year, for which the quorum is 4 members.

« »
  • SUN
  • MON
  • TUE
  • WED
  • THU
  • FRI
  • SAT
Have any Query?

Our support team will be happy to assist you!